CDOS Learning Standards


Career Development and Occupational Studies (CDOS)

The New York State Learning Standards for Career Development and Occupational Studies (CDOS)were developed during 1994-1995 by a curriculum and assessment committee comprised of K-post-secondary educators, school administrators, community and business representatives, and parents. The CDOS standards layout the foundation for a system designed to deliver:

• career planning

• integrated/applied learning

• basic life and work skills to all students

It also provides standards/performance indicators for programs of study in six different career cluster areas.

Students who elect to study a specific career cluster should acquire the career knowledge and skills necessary for immediate employment and/or continuing study in a post-secondary program.

Career Development and Occupational Studies

Standard 1 - Career Development - Students will be knowledgeable about the world of work, explore career options, and relate personal skills, aptitudes, and abilities to future career decisions.

Standard 2 - Integrated Learning - Students will demonstrate how academic knowledge and skills are applied in the workplace and other settings.

Standard 3a - Universal Foundation Skills - Students will demonstrate mastery of the foundation skills and competencies essential for success in the workplace.

Standard 3b -Career Majors - Students who choose a career major will acquire the career-specific technical knowledge/skills necessary to progress toward gainful employment, career advancement, and success in post-secondary programs.